Micron Foundation Lauds Seven Rockies Students

The Micron Technology Foundation announced Tuesday that it has awarded a total of $154,000 in college scholarships to seven high school students living in the Rockies region. In all, 13 students in five states received a sum of $253,000 as winners of the annual Micron Science and Technology Scholars program. Kenneth Brewer, a Timpview High School student from Provo, Utah, received Top Awardee honors and a $55,000 scholarship. Fellow Utah prepster Laura Lassetter garnered a $16,500 scholarship. Two Colorado students—Meredith MacGregor and Hannah Rice—also earned $16,500 scholarships, as well did three teenagers from Idaho, Kyle Antonini, Marie Herring and Keegan Poppen. Three students from Texas and another trio from Virginia were also selected. According to Micron, the program recognizes students who excel in academic and leadership skills and encourages them to pursue high-technology careers. Micron Technology Inc. is a semiconductor manufacturer headquartered in Boise, Idaho.